Second Call for papers

International Head-Driven Phrase Structure Grammar Conference

Extended Deadline: 24-Mar-2017

Invited speakers

Laura Michaelis, University of Colorado-Boulder
Robert D. Borsley, University of Essex


HPSG - theory and implementation, by Emily Bender (University of
Washington) and Dan Flickinger (Stanford University)

Special Session "Languages of the Seven"

The special session focuses on languages from Iran, Iraq, Libya,
Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen, and is not restricted to any
particular theoretic framework. All are welcome.

Main Session

Abstracts are solicited for presentations which address linguistic,
foundational, or computational issues relating to or in the spirit of
the framework of Head-Driven Phrase Structure Grammar.

Conference Format

Prospective speakers must submit a 5 page abstract for the main
session (30 minute presentation, plus 10 minute discussion). The
conference will be streamed online, and presenters who cannot attend
the conference because of travel bans can give their talks remotely.

Venue and Related Events

The HPSG Conference ( will be collocated with the
LSA's Summer
Institute, at the University of Kentucky (,
which takes place during July 5th through August 1st.

Local Organizing Committee Chair: Fabiola Henri
(, University of Kentucky.


All abstracts should be submitted in PDF format via:

Please direct any questions to the Program Committee Chair:

All abstracts will be reviewed anonymously by at least two
reviewers. They should not include the authors' names, and
authors are asked to avoid self-references.

Important Dates

Abstract submission deadline: 17 March 2017
Notification of acceptance: 15 April 2017
Conference: 7-9 July 2017
Conference proceedings submission: 15 October 2017

Program Committee

Anne Abeillé
Doug Arnold
Emily Bender
Francis Bond
Gosse Bouma
George Broadwell
Philippa Cook
Berthold Crysmann
Kordula De Kuthy
Daniel Flickinger
Antske Fokkens
Petter Haugereid
Fabiola Henri
Anke Holler
Jong-Bok Kim
Jean-Pierre Koenig
Robert D. Levine
Nurit Melnik
Philip Miller
Stefan Müller
Tsuneko Nakazawa
Joanna Nykiel
Gerald Penn
Manfred Sailer
Pollet Samvellian
Sanghoun Song
Stephen Wechsler
Shûichi Yatabe
Eun-Jung Yoo


The conference proceedings will be published online by CSLI
Publications. Only papers presented in the main session will be
included in the proceedings.

A call for contributions to the proceedings will be issued after the
conference. Proceedings of previous conferences are available at: